The Cherry Tree

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wishing I was looking out into the front garden, with my forehead pressed to the glass, my eyes shining as I looked at the huge Cherry Tree growing in the boarder of my parent’s garden.

It’s huge tree trunk full of ants scrambling over the knotted back, hurrying on their way. I’d watched them most summers of my life. I used to dance on the front lawn, soft, luch and green and then towards the end of Spring I’d clap my hands in glee as the gorgeous pale pink petal fell, covering the green grass with pink, so graceful they looked. I adored the pink lawn.  With shining, bright eyes i’d dash over the tarmac stepped carefully on the lawn,wriggingly my toes in the cool grass before starting to dance to my own rhythem, swirling around, kicking up the petals, laughing if any landed on me.  I adored this time of year.

I grew up loving this Cherry Tree.  It still stands there.  Once I have vision of marrying under it in full bloom, though that wasn’t to be.  Perhaps I will re-new my vows there instead, who knows what the future holds. I surely didn’t.

I left my Cherry Tree behind. I do miss it.  I miss how the boughs stretch over the lawn creating a great place to have a picnic, I miss the fun and laughter of my childhood with my parents and siblings, strangely I miss watching the ants traversing the bark.  I miss this tree so much it has a place in my book and also a children’s story I wrote.  

I will be back again.  My parents still live in the same house, the tree is still there, blossoming every year and covering the lush green grass which springs back with each of your steps.  I’d love to introduce my own children to my favourite tree.  Maybe one day, who knows what life will bring to us.  I surely don’t

Leave a Reply

